BSBE Department Committees/Roles and Responsibilities Tenure: Two Years effective from September 16, 2022 - September 15, 2024

	Tendre: Two Tedrs effective from deptember 10, 2022 - deptember 10, 2024						
Sr. No.	Department Activities	Faculty Members	Roles & responsibilities	Associated Staff	Remark/ Merger/Tasks		
1		Head of the Department	Chairperson	BSBE Office Staff (Mr Binoy Das)	Tenure: Two years for faculty members and one year for student members Merger: #BTP Coordinator; # to coordinate with Faculty advisors; #Tasks as per Academic ordinance		
		Dr Rajkumar P. Thummer	Member Secretary				
		Prof. Rajaram Swaminathan	Member				
	Departmental Undergraduate Programme Committee (DUPC)	Prof. Bithiah G. Jaganathan	Member				
		Prof. Utpal Bora	Member				
		Prof. B. Anand	Member				
		Prof. Arun Goyal	Member				
		Dr Gagan Kumar	Member from other Department (Physics)				
		Ms. Janhavee S. Panse (3rd year B.Tech)	Student Member				
		Mr Atharva Deshmukh (4th year B.Tech)	Student Member				
2	Department Post Graduate Program Committee (DPPC)	Head of the Department	Chairperson	BSBE Office Staff (Mr Debabrata Purkayastha)	Tenure: Two years for faculty members and one year for student members Merger: #PMRF #MTP Coordinator; #Faculty Advisor for M.Tech. and all PhD batches until the supervisor is formally allocated; #To coordinate with Department Admission Committee; #Tasks as per Academic ordinance		
		Prof. Vishal Trivedi	Member Secretary				
		Prof. Aiyagari Ramesh	Member				
		Dr N. Selvaraju	Member				
		Prof. Biman B Mandal	Member				
		Prof. Pranab Goswami	Member				
		Prof. Kannan Pakshirajan	Member				
		Prof. Gopal Das	Member from other Department (Chemistry)				
		Mr Rajendra Prasad (3rd Year PhD)	Student Member				
		Ms Pavithra P. (1st year M.Tech.)	Student Member				

3	Departmental Faculty Advisory Committee (DFAC)	Head of the Department	Chairperson	BSBE Office Staff (Mr Binoy Das)	#Tasks as defined by the Institute
		Prof. Ranjan Tamuli	Member and Convener		
		Prof. Vishal Trivedi	Member		
		Prof. Kannan Pakshirajan	Member		
4	Departmental Disciplinary Committee (DDC)	Head of the Department	Chairperson	BSBE Office Staff (Mr Binoy Das)	#Tasks as defined by the Institute
		Dr Rajkumar Thummer, Secretary, DUPC	Member Secretary		
		Prof. Vshal Trivedi, Secretary, DPPC	Member		
		Mr Rajendra Prasad (3rd Year PhD)	Student Member from Department		
5	Department Disposal Committee (DDC)	Head of the Department	Chairperson	Mr Niranjan Barah	Tenure: Two years; #Tasks as defined by the Institute
		Dr Anil Mukund Limaye	Convener and Member		
		Mr Niranjan Barah (Technical Suerintendent)	Non-member Secretary		
		Mr Nurul Islam (Senior Technical Suerintendent)	Member		
		Mr Atul Chandra Deka, Technical Officer other Department	External Member		
6	Departmental Admission Committee (M.Tech., Ph.D.)	Prof. Manish Kumar	Convener (PhD admissions)	Mr Nurul Islam and Mr Niranjan Barah	Tasks: # To attend/effect/ coordinate M.Tech and PhD admissions of the Department under the provisions of academic ordinance. #This committee will work in coordination with DPPC.
		Dr Lalit Mohan Pandey	Co-convener (PhD admissions)		
		Prof. Nitin Chaudhary	Convener (M.Tech admissions)		
		Prof. Kannan Pakshirajan	Member		
		Prof. Ranjan Tamuli	Member		
		Dr Selvaraju Narayanasami	Member		
		Prof. Vishal Trivedi (DPPC Secretary)	Member		
		Prof. Rakhi Chaturvedi (DPPC Chairperson)	Member		

7	Liaison with PRBR Section, Outreach Office	Dr Kusum K. Singh	Convener	Mr Chandan Kumar Nath	Tasks: #To coordinate between Department and PRBR section and Outreach Office for the defined activities; #Annual reports and other reports as asked by the Institute: #Department Website: #Biotalk: #Publicity; #Peer review; # RTIs; #Digital display and related matter
		Dr Shirisha Nagotu	Co-convener		
		Dr Navin Gupta	Co-convener		
8	Utilization (including New BSBE	Prof. Shankar Prasad Kanaujia	Convener	Mr Nurul Islam, Mr Niranjan Barah and Dipankar Barman	All Department space related matters
		Prof. Nitin Chaudhary	Co-convener		
		Prof. Sachin Kumar	Co-convener		
		Prof. V. Venkat Dasu	Co-convener		
9	Course allotment	Dr Lalit Mohan Pandey	Convener	Mr Chandan Kumar Nath	Matters related to Course allotment #Time-table Committee
10	Liaison with Institute/Department library	Dr Soumen Kumar Maiti	Convener	Mr Chandan Kumar Nath	#All matters related to Institute library; #Matters related to improvisation/upgradation of Department Library facilities
		Prof. Latha Rangan (on Leave)	Co-convener		
11	Rest Thesis Award	Dr Priyadarshi Satpati	Convener	Ms Prarthana Swargari and Mr Dipankar Barman	Finalization of awards following Institute Academic Ordinance
		Prof. Gurvinder Kaur Saini	Co-convener		
		Dr Biplab Bose	Co-convener		
12	Career Development	Prof. Sachin Kumar	Coordinator	Mr Chandan Kumar Nath	#All placement related matters; #All internship related matters including those for M.Tech. students
		Mr Jaideep Sanjeev Yadav (2nd Year M.Tech)	PG Student Coordinator		
	(Including internship coordinator)	Mr Tanmay Sutar (4th year B.Tech)	UG Student Coordinator		

13	Liaison with Industrial Interactions and Special Initiative (IISI)	Prof. Debasish Das	Convener	Mr Nurul Islam	#To coordinate between Department and II&SI section for the defined activities; #Adavncement of Department-Industry collaborations
		Prof. Sanjukta Patra	Co-convener		
		Prof. A. B. Kunnumakkara	Co-convener		
		Prof. L. Sahoo	Co-convener		
14	Liaison with Research and Development (RnD)	Prof S Senthilkumar	Convener and IRDC Member		#To coordinate between Department and RnD section for the defined activities; #Research Conclave; # IPDF; #Patents/paper review committee for Institute funding
		Prof. Siddhartha S. Ghosh	Co-convener		
		Prof. Vibin Ramakrishnan	Co-convener		
		Dr Souptick Chanda	Co-convener		
15	Departmental Anti-ragging Squad	Head of the Department	Chairperson	Mr Niranjan Barah	The anti-ragging squads shall generally conduct an on the-spot enquiry into any incident of ragging and the enquiry report along with recommendations shall be submitted to the Chairman, Anti-Ragging Committee for necessary action. Squads will submit a summary of incidents reported and the respective actions, or nil incident report in case of no such incident encountered, in a prescribed format for every fortnight during the first three months of the academic year/ resumption of offline classes. This commmittee is for the Academic year 2022-23.
		Prof. Vishal Trivedi	DPPC Secreatary, Member		
		Dr Rajkumar P. Thummer	DUPC Secreatary, Member		
16	Departmental Floor-wise Faculty co-ordinators	See Annexure-I			
17	Departmental Floor-wise Student co-ordinators	See Annexure-II			
18	Faculty Advisor, B.Tech 2022 Batch.	Dr Souptick Chanda			
19	Faculty Advisor, B.Tech 2023 Batch.	Dr Kusum Kumari Singh			
20	Faculty advisors for other B.Tech batches	There is no change; the current Faculty advisor will continue. For details, visit link at BSBE homepage (https://www.iitg.ac.in/biotech/dept_commitee_cate.php?com=Faculty-Advisor(B.Tech)&a=RmFjdWx0eSBBZHZpc29yIChCLIRIY2gpIA==)			