Faculty
The multidisciplinary faculty comprises of renowned names drawn from a vast variety of fields such as Product Design, Usability Engineering
and Interaction Design, Human Factors Engineering, Graphic and Information Design, Computer Graphics, and Internet Technologies and
Multimedia. Apart from this regular workshops and visiting faculty both from India and abroad bring an international perspective to complement
the education. In the past DOD had researchers and practising designers from countries like Germany, Israel, Denmark and Japan apart from
various Indian institutes.

The department comprises encouraging and energetic faculty, guiding students through every phase of design. Faculty members also provide consultancy to corporate institutions. Distinguished faculty, designers from renowned universities visit us every year and enrich our academic programme.

  Utpal Barua
Status Professor and Head of the Department
Interest area Basic Design, Graphic Design, Design Drawing and Visualization, Visual Design- Principles and Applications
Home page  
Contact   utpalb@iitg.ernet.in , T: +91-361-2582452
  Pradeep G. Yammiyavar
Status Professor
Interest area HCI-UE-Interaction Design, Product Design, Design Semantics, Design Management, Experiential Design, Environment-Urban Infrastructure Interdisciplinary Design & Pedagogy, Design Research
Home page Pradeep Gururaj Yammiyavar
Contact pradeep@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582457
  Debkumar Chakraborti
Status Professor and Officiating Director, CIT Kokrajhar, Assam
Interest area Ergonomics Research, Human Compatibility Factor, Design Ergonomics, Product- Environment Interface Design, Occupational Health, Participatory Ergonomics and Training
Home page  
Contact dc@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582453
  A.K.Das
Status
Professor and Interim Director, IIIT Manipur
Interest area
Industrial Design, Rapid Prototyping and Tooling, Space Design, Facility Design, Environmental Graphics, Design for Disabled
Home page  
Contact dasak@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582454
  Ravi Mokashi Punekar
Status Professor and Dean, AA & ER, IITG
Interest area Industrial Design, Rapid Prototyping and Tooling, Space Design, Facility Design, Environmental Graphics, Design for Disabled
Home page  
Contact mokashi@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582455
  Mriganka Madhukailya
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Short Film , New Media Theory, Documentary film, Video art, Participatory video
Home page  
 
Contact mriganka@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582461
  Manoj Majhi
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Animation, Special Effects, Cartooning, Research Interest, Animation Movie history, Creation of Traditional Animation
Home page  
Contact   manojmaj@iitg.ernet.in , T: +91-361-2582462
  Shareka Iqbal
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Adaptive Reuse, Solar Passive Architecture
Home page    
Contact   shareka.iqbal@iitg.ernet.in , T: +91-361-2582460
  Avinash Shinde
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Product Design, Furniture Design, Lighting Design
Home page  
Contact savinash@iitg.ernet.in T: +91-361-2582458
  Sougata Karmakar
  Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Virtual Simulation (CAD and Digital Human Modeling) 2. Physical Ergonomics (Product and Workstation design), Cognitive Ergonomics (Information processing), Design and work environment, Design and Occupational Health
Home page  
Contact karmakar.sougata@iitg.ernet.in, karmakar.sougata@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582464; M-+91-8011403513
  Keyur Sorathia
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area
Interaction Design, Gesture Controlled User Interfaces, Tangible Interfaces, Design for Development
Home page  
Contact   keyur@iitg.ernet.in, keyurbsorathia@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582456, +91-8011693660
  D. Udaya Kumar
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Graphic Design, Typography, Type Design, Information Graphics, Motion Graphics, Design Research, Exhibition Design, Architecture
Home page    
Contact d.udaya@iitg.ernet.in, d.udaya@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582463
  Prasad Bokil
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Visual language, Design semiotics, Graphic Design, Type Design, Story telling, Design Research, Design ontoloy

Home page

Contact
prasad.bokil@iitg.ernet.in, prasad.bokil@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582468
 
  Sharmistha Banerjee
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area

Industrial Design, Design for Sustainability, Bio-inspired Design, Medical Product Design

Home page    
Contact Sharmistha@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582469
  Charu Monga
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Visual communication, Design research, Visual Ethnography, Indigenous communities, Craft clusters, Film-making, Animation, Illustration, Game design, Edutainment.
Home paget  
Contact   charum@iitg.ernet.in, mailcharumonga@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582470
  Abhishek Singh
Status Visiting Assistant Professor
Interest area Automotive Design, Product Design, Graphic Design, Design Research
Home page    
Contact abhisheksingh11@iitg.ernet.in, abhishekdod@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582466, 7663036934
  Swati Pal
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Ergo-design & Innovation, Physical Ergonomics, Cognitive Ergonomics, Design and Biomechanics, Occupational Health
Home page  
 
Contact swatipal@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582477, +91-361-2584477
  Nanki Nath
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Graphic Design, Typography, Wayfinding & Signage Design, Visual Research methods, Content Development, Photography
Home page  
Contact nanki.nath@iitg.ernet.in, nankinath@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582478
  Pankaj Upadhyay
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Product Design, Industrial Design, Design for Manufacture, Rapid Prototyping, Consumer Product Design, Industrial Equipment Design, Biomimicry
Home page
Contact pankaj.upadhyay@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582479
  Sheetal M. Gokhale
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Film & Video,Story telling & Visual Scripting, Animation, Graphic Design
Home page  
Contact sheetalg@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582481; M-+91-8486473169
  Jagadish Kumar
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Visual Arts - Painting and Sculpture. Printmaking making - Lithography, Etching, woodcut, Linocut and Dry point. New Media Art, Installations, Video art and Sound Art. Traditional Calligraphy and Typography. Folk art and Tribal art studies. Indian and Western Art history and aesthetics.
Home page

 

Contact jagadishkumar@iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582480
  Shrivastava Abhishek
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Interaction Design, Speech User Interfaces and Multimodal Interface Design, Design for Development, New Media, Graphic Design and Cartooning.
Home page  
Contact shri@iitg.ernet.in T: +91-361-2582471
  Pratul Kalita
Status Visiting Assistant Professor
Interest area Design Management, Design Methods, Systems Approach to Design, Design for Development.
Home page  
Contact pratulkalita@iitg.ernet.in, pratul_kalita@yahoo.co.in  T: +91-361-2582472
  Supradip Das
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Origami inspired product Development, Toy for tomorrow, Paper craft, Transformable furniture, Structural packaging Design and Product development from aboriginal science and technology
Home page  
Contact supradip.das@iitg.ernet.in, supradip@alumni.iitg.ernet.in, T: +91-361-2582474, M: +91- 8011892334
  Urmi Ravindra Salve
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Human Factor Engineering, Occupational Ergonomics, Cognitive Ergonomics, Research Methodology
Home page  
Contact urmi.salve@iitg.ernet.in, meeturmi@gmail.com, T: +91-361-2582473, M:+91- 8723828575
  Swaroop Roy
Status Assistant Professor
Interest area Automobile  Design & Styling, Automobile Sketching and Rendering, Advance Automotive Forms, Concept Design ( Character , vehicles , environment. etc ), Illustrations
Home page  
Contact swarooproy@iitg.ernet.in, roy.swaroop@gmail.com, T:+91-361-2582475
   

The Department of Design, IIT Guwahati | copyright @ 1997-2010 | Contact Us